Totally too late to be up

It’s almost 3am, and here I am, updating my blog.  After having a pretty creepy nightmare (my brain appears to have thought up a clever but scary horror movie all by itself), I wasn’t quite ready to go back to sleep.  I haven’t updated for a while, so here I am!

Being here on base is a little like having life put on hold for a while.  It’s 20 degrees warmer than home, warm enough that I’m wearing t-shirts and have even had a day or two in which I wished I had shorts.  And yet I can look back at pictures we took two months ago at the park, and the girls were both in warm jackets.  Funny, that.  Our regular life seems so far away, like something that happened a long time in the past.  I guess it’s because we were only in our new house for four months before coming here, and we’ve been here three weeks and will be here three more.  I find myself not quite wanting to go home.  Crazy as it is staying in a hotel room, it’s also a nice break from reality.  I get to spend most of the day playing with Josie and visiting the park and chatting with friends, and I don’t have a million things going on and so much cleaning to do.

I really like the women here.  Every time we go outside, pretty much, there are other women and lots of little kids playing, so there’s always somebody to talk to while letting the kids run (or, in Josie’s case, crawl and cruise) around.  It was actually a little easier to develop friendships the first two weeks, though, because it was just our group and the group who were three weeks earlier than us but here for the same training.  Only a few kids, because our group is for people who are new officers in the military, so many of them were newlyweds, not many kids.  Since there weren’t so many of us, I’d see the same few faces often and really get to know them.

A few days ago, however, a new group arrived, and they’re here for a different training that happens about four years further into “officerhood.”  So more of those guys are married and have been married longer, and there are a *lot* more kids.  The playground tends to be overrun at most hours of the day.  There are so many women that you almost always have company, which is nice, but it also takes a bit longer to develop friendships because you don’t talk to the same women quite so often.  It also starts to get a bit harder to keep track of names, and which kid goes to which parent, which woman said she was stationed at which base, etc.

On the plus side, I knitted an entire sweater for Josie so far.  The knitting part is done, I just need to sew in the extra strings and attach buttons.  Of course, it’s a bit warm for her to be wearing sweaters most days, but I’m sure it gets colder here in the Deep South *eventually*, right?

I’m hungry, but I’m thinking that it would be a bad idea to eat carrot sticks in the same room as my sleeping husband.  Obviously, a Snickers bar is a much better idea.  Right?

Leave a Reply

