One day left, maybe

So, if possible, I’d like to be able to get out of here tomorrow evening. Make the drive on a weekday, get to my parents with a whole week to relax, get to do Passover, etc. I’m not sure whether it’s going to happen, but I’d like to try.

The problem is that I’m tired. Seth’s tired. We’ve been pushing ourselves about as hard as we can (and I don’t mean physically, at least in my case, I’m being super careful because of the pregnancy) for days now, and I don’t know how much longer we can manage it.

On the plus side, it might be possible. The third bedroom is our “staging room,” it has a section of all the stuff we’re bringing with us in the minivan/trailer, carefully arranged so that we can get an idea of how well it fits. So far we’ve got plenty of room, it looks like. Then we have boxes on the other side of the room that will go in the truck.

The dining room table and the living room couch, Beth’s little dollhouse table, and the beds are pretty much the only furniture left in the house. Seth even got his desk loaded onto the truck today. As soon as I get up enough energy I’m going to finish cleaning the dining room, so it’ll basically be packed and ready, and then tackle the living room and kitchen. Not sure how much I’ll get done tonight, but I’m going to try. Will probably start with the living room, as it’s the room hardest to work on with the girls underfoot.

In my spare time, I’m becoming enthralled with the name “Cecilia” for our new baby. We haven’t decided on it or anything, yet (although Seth hasn’t outright vetoed it, which is something), but I really, really love it, and it seems like the more I think about it the more I love it. I hope we end up choosing it, because I don’t want to go back to the drawing board. I’m one of those women who like to have a name for the baby months ahead of the birth so that I can start thinking of the baby by an actual name, as opposed to “NewBaby.” Beth had her name the moment we knew she was a girl (and she had a joint boy-girl name that was a mix of our two potentials before that), and Josie had hers months before her birth (before we knew she was a girl, we had a mix of three potentials, one boy and two girl, but we ended up eliminating one girl name because it was just too popular).

So, that’s about it. Tired, stressed. But looking forward to being done very, very soon! Even if we don’t manage to finish and head out tomorrow, we *have* to leave the next day, so it can’t be any longer than that!

2 thoughts on “One day left, maybe

  1. I like Cecilia. It’s kind of… lilting. That sounds cheesy. But that’s the word I could come up with.

    I, too, need to have a name as early as possible. While I believe it’s a person at conception, it doesn’t really start to feel that way until the baby has a name. Poor Emmy didn’t have one ’til I was six months along.

    Packing sucks. Unless you have all kinds of money for reliable movers, there’s no way around it. But it sounds like you’re doing it in a smart, organized manner. We kind of flung things into boxes willy-nilly over the course of several months, which made unpacking all kinds of fun.

    I also remember on moving day, just about our entire church came to help us pack up the rest of our things and load them into vehicles. I’d assured my pastor that I’d been packing a box or two a day for weeks now, and there wasn’t much left to do. And I genuinely believed this.

    And then our friends came, and it was box after box after box, and stuff just kept appearing out of nooks and crannies and corners and closets. I was mortified. It was like Mary Poppins’s carpet bag, if you’ve ever seen that movie. The church people didn’t seem to care, but I felt horrible.

    So. It sounds like you’re doing it in such a way that won’t happen, which is good.

    And I don’t really know what the point of that story was. I think I need to go to bed.

  2. We’re thinking about Naomi as a middle name! If we choose it, do we get credit for naming her after you? 🙂 It’s all because I like your blog so much. 😛

    I like being able to refer to the baby by name, and I think it makes it easier for soon-to-be older siblings to think of the baby not as “a baby” but as “Emily” or “Jake,” right from the start. Just like they say when the baby comes, refer to him/her by name, not as “the baby,” to your older children, and that helps them to think of their new sibling as a person and not as a crying doll. We gave “Beth” the job of telling the grandparents the new baby’s name, “A-seel-uh” as she says it. She’s told “Seth’s” parents so far, and I’ll probably have her tell mine today.

    I thought we were pretty done with the move, too, all organized and stuff. But there’s just so much stuff that’s loose and hard to figure out boxes for. Ugh. I was just so tired of packing at the end. It kept feeling like we had a few hours left and we’d be done, and that went on for hours and hours and hours…

    Started to write a lot more here, then realized I should just make a new blog entry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

