Quick update

I’m going to try to make this quick, because Cecy is in bed and I haven’t heard any baby noises for about 10 minutes, so I think she’s actually asleep. She has this little prank she loves to play where she waits until I’ve just climbed into bed and closed my eyes, then she starts to cry. So this time I’m hoping to beat her prank by actually getting an hour’s sleep or so in first before she wakes me. We’ll see how it goes.

I think I’m getting a cold. Possibly contributed to by the lack of sleep weakening my immune system. I’m annoyed with myself for going to church today, as I may have given it to others, but I wasn’t feeling any symptoms beyond the standard exhaustion until I was already there.

Last night Cecy actually slept fairly well. I think I’m starting to pick up on some patterns, too. For instance, she’ll cry in her bouncer and I’ll come get her and go to feed her, but she won’t open her mouth, she’ll just go right back to sleep. That’s her “I want to sleep in Mommy’s bed” trick. Other times, she’s in my bed, maybe just having been fed, and she doesn’t want to eat, but she’s fussy and restless. That’s her “I want to sleep in my own bedroom” signal. I’m not sure why sometimes she wants to sleep in one and sometimes the other, but I’m working on getting her to sleep in her own room. At the same time, I let her sleep in my bed a little bit, because I absolutely need sleep to be able to parent my girls, and sometimes that’s the only way it’s happening. Better that I let her sleep in my bed (with all precautions… no blankets, on her back, fan on, angled so that she can’t tip over or nuzzle her face into my side, etc.) then that I get so little sleep that I make a careless and dangerous mistake during the day.

My house is a total wreck. Partly because I’ve been trying to pack, and so putting off some of the regular chores that will just have to be done over again in a few days. Partly because I’m too tired to get a lot done, and much of my awake time is spent feeding a new baby or walking around with one strapped to my chest (which is exhausting and also gets in the way).

Fortunately, tomorrow is a light day. We have Beth’s dance class in the evening, and I’ll have to take all 3 kids, which will be a huge pain. Josie gets into everything. But at least we’ll have the day free, so I can try to get some cleaning and desperately-needed vacuuming done, and maybe even a bit of packing.

Oh. And I really, really like the movie, “The Swan Princess.” I’ve watched it 3 times in the past month. Yes, I’m weird like that. I love the songs, especially. But the story is great, and I love the climactic moment and how it fits in perfectly with scenes from earlier in the movie. It’s a great movie to watch with the girls while I’m folding laundry. Yes, I do fold the laundry. Just generally not until it’s been sitting in a laundry basket for 2-3 days first.

So. Good night!

Leave a Reply

