The Three Little Pigs

So, I meant to pull out the camera and take a picture or two of us doing school today. I forgot. Of course, it wouldn’t have done much good anyway, as today’s activity wasn’t so much of a hit, and it would be hard for me to take a picture of myself reading on the couch with the girls! 🙂 Although I may try to take such a picture tomorrow, just for fun. I’d like to start talking a bit more about school and including pictures on this blog.

Today we read several of the “Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!” books and another Mo Willems one, then watched the Scholastic DVD that went with the stories. Then we read yet another version of “The Three Little Pigs,” and a book called “The Cherry Tree.” Emily can now do the whole “Little pig, little pig, let me come in!” “Not by the hair on my chinny-chin-chin!” “Then I’ll huff and I’ll puff and I’ll blow your house in!” section by herself, which probably means this story has been covered sufficiently. 🙂 The activity was a series of coloring pages for her to color and put in order, then staple together to make a book. She liked doing that for Goldilocks, and was interested at the start, but she just didn’t seem to get into it today.

She also dragged a bit with today’s assignment from “Get Ready For the Code” because it involved more writing than usual, probably because we’re finishing up a letter. I was really glad for my box of “silly things” to keep her going. Each time she does a section, she gets to choose a piece of paper from the box with a silly activity on it for her to do. It really keeps her going.

We also took Charlotte to get her six-month shots (yes, she’s seven months old… oops), and I managed to scrub the kitchen floor. And that’s about all we managed today.

Tomorrow is “Good night Gorilla” and “If You Give a Moose a Muffin” and some other good ones, plus an activity of making “Good night Gorilla” puppets that I think she’ll enjoy.

I’m up to the end of Week 4 (we’re currently on Week 2) with planning activities. Everything else is done, I just need an activity (usually a craft) for each day.

Sonlight’s new website is supposed to go live tomorrow (was supposed to be today, but of course such things never quite go as planned!). I can’t wait to see it.

2 thoughts on “The Three Little Pigs

    • I hope it works for you! It’s working great for us, although I think I need to come up with a new set of silly things to keep it fresh.

Leave a Reply

