Crawling!

Yes, folks, this is it! The last remnants of my sanity are departing forever! Charlotte is crawling! We have mobility! (Said in the same tone as, “We have liftoff!”)

Not only is she crawling, but she loves to pull herself up to her knees while holding herself upright. She’s not pulling to a full stand yet, but just pulling herself to her knees gets her high enough to get into lots of stuff. Eek! I remember not-so-fondly the weekend that my parents asked me to dogsit, and Emily, who had been a crawler, suddenly started pulling herself to a stand. She’d get into the dog’s water bowl, I’d be dealing with that, she’d pull all the magnets off the fridge, I’d be dealing with that, she’d start pulling everything off the coffee tables and end tables and all the DVDs off the shelf and… eek! What a weekend. I needed a baby cage.

Crawling, however, is cute. Really, really cute. Especially when you enter a room, baby sees you and gives a “Squee!” and starts crawling as fast as possible (which is not very) up to you, crawls up onto your shoes and tugs at your pantlegs. So adorable.

I’m reading “The Well-Trained Mind.” It’s got some great ideas. I don’t know that I really want to do the classical method all the way, although I think it has merit, but I think I might appropriate a few ideas. Like, for some of the books a child reads, it suggests that you have the child narrate back the story to you after you finish reading (telling you what they remember). You write it down, then (if they’re old enough) have them read it back. You also have them draw a picture that goes with the book. Somebody on Sonlight also has their child write (and sometimes decorate) a page that has the title and author on it. If you put those together, after each book, they’d make a little summary of three pages, one with the title/author, one with a drawing, and one with a summary of what the story was about. What a great way to solidify memory of a book and be able to look back at it later. Also, I like the idea of the narrative, as it sounds like a good way for the parent to get an idea of what the child understood from the book.

“The Well-Trained Mind” was a gift from my uncle. We ran across a book we thought he’d like, “Emancipating Slaves, Enslaving Free Men” (part of Sonlight’s high school curriculum, looked neat), and sent it to him a few months ago. A few days ago, when we arrived at my parents’ for a visit, they had “The Well-Trained Mind” as a gift he’d sent for us. πŸ™‚ That was really neat of him. And I’m reading it a lot faster than I’d read the “Emancipating…” book, perhaps because it’s on the topic that I’m currently obsessing about (homeschool).

2 thoughts on “Crawling!

  1. Crawling! Both times now, I’ve been all impatient for the crawling, and then it started, and after a week, I’ve thought, “NOOOOOO, WHAT WAS I THINKING?” But yeah, it’s pretty darned adorable. πŸ™‚

  2. Yeah, I think I wanted the baby to crawl sooner when it was the first baby. πŸ™‚ After that, I knew what I’d be getting into. On the other hand, I was clueless about baby-proofing the first time, and this time I’m pretty blase because I have a better concept of what they can get into and how soon.

    But it’s just so, so cute! Little diapered butt waggling in the air as she crawls. The cutest thing is when she’s in another room and you see her through the open doorway just crawling off after something.

Leave a Reply

