Time to start geography!

So, first a confession. I’ve been totally slacking off on doing much “school reading” with my younger kids. I’ve been having Jenny tag along with Emily on Sonlight’s Core B, which is working fairly well. But I haven’t been getting to the morning reading much at all, which theoretically was supposed to be one P3/4 book for Charlotte and then P4/5 for Jenny (these are the Sonlight preschool cores, in case you aren’t familiar with Sonlight).

It’s really easy with homeschooling to focus on the oldest kid/kids, I find, because they’re doing the most “real” work, and they’re old enough that it’s more crucial for them to be getting enough school in. But that shouldn’t mean that the younger kids are getting an inferior education, of course.

I think part of the problem is that the preschool cores just don’t have an overarching theme to pull them together. I remember being somewhat bored with P3/4, P4/5, and even Core A when I was going through them with Emily, too. The books are great, and we enjoyed reading them, but I like being able to see the pattern as you travel through time or place, that sort of thing.

So, even though I’m not finished with P4/5 (which was what I was originally waiting for), I think I’m just going to go ahead and skip to our “around the world” unit with Jenny and Charlotte. I’m also flying by the seat of my pants, because… it’s not finished! While I do have a mostly complete list of books, I only have the schedule planned out for the first ten weeks or so, which gets me through North and South America and just starting on Europe. But as long as I keep working on it, I should have plenty of time to finish the rest before I get to it. I put the first few books on hold, and we’ll start once they all arrive, probably starting this Monday if they arrive in time.

We start in Canada, so that means we’ll be reading the entries for Canada that are in some of our spines:
My First Atlas
Children Just Like Me
Children Around the World
My Librarian is a Camel

along with some fictional stories from:
Around the World in 80 Tales
Tales of the Shimmering Sky.

We’ll read:
Very Last First Time
Shi-shi-etko
Goose’s Story
Wilderness Cat
Dawn Watch
Olden Days Coat
Perfect Snow
Up Home

We have some songs from the two World Playground CDs, and some science from “Science Around the World” and “The Science Chef Travels the World.”

Between all of them, we end up with a nice variety, covering native Canadians, the frozen north, surburban life, the Great Lakes, both snowy days and summer, and some of the cultural influences on Canada from French, to Scots-Irish, to “Eskimo.”

I was slightly disappointed to find that one book, “the Gift of the Inuksuk,” had disappeared from the library before I got to use it. I looked for something to replace it, but I think for now I’ll just leave that slot blank, and maybe we’ll have a light reading day, or we’ll double up and get two days done in one. More likely the former than the latter, as I still have the Core B readings to get done in the afternoon!

The new passports arrived for the girls today, too. I decided this time to take the easy way out, and ordered two passports from “My Father’s World” to use for our flag stickers. I’m also using a sticker book instead of making my own stickers, http://smile.amazon.com/Flags-World-Color-Stickers-Dover/dp/0486485269/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1423105157&sr=1-1&keywords=flag+stickers. The stickers look to be just about the right size. The passports have about 23 usable pages, maybe 24 if you want to use the inside of the back cover. If you keep the stickers placed reasonably tightly, you can fit 4 stickers to a page. So that’s 92 stickers if you use 23 pages. The flag book comes with 96, but there are a few that we might not use because we don’t actually cover the country. If I really wanted to use every sticker, I’d just use the back cover and I’d have enough pages, anyway. So I think we’re good.

The girls are really excited about the flag/passport books, and also about the sticker books we’ll be using here and there. We have Usborne’s “Sticker Dolly Dressing Around the World” and “Sticker Dolly Dressing Costumes Around the World.” The first is one that we used last time we did this, but the second is new to us (not sure if it wasn’t around last time, or if I just didn’t know about it).

If you’ve been waiting for the geography program, know that I’m working on it and should have something to send you fairly soon. Starting on it should give me the impetus to get it done. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

